MBLAQ – Cry mv dissection

Okay, I’m frequently posting about ancient history, but I figure I can’t be the ONLY one who’s catching up with two decades of K-Pop after being sheltered for my first 20-some years.

Also, I have an ANGLE.      [suits. if they’re suits, they’re relevant. Right?]

if this counts as a suit, apparently, yes

So, MBLAQ is kind of adorable to me, mostly because Rain and his mini-mes but this MV from BLAQstyle has wormed it’s way into my heart for a different reason…

it's hard to screencap this video, btw, because they are CONSTANTLY MOVING, thank you Rain-oppa's choreographer

Yes. We have the twisted military concept, each modified differently though from the same basic uniform look…

you may note I'm a sucker for intense blue/white palettes? yeah, sorry 'bout that

And as our other main concept, what really looks like a shojo-manga-hero uniform set. I understand that it’s the high contrast of black accented white, which isn’t a trademark of manga? But as someone who’s read Special A, Vampire Knight, and…many others, where the specialness of the school was displayed in the fact that they wear white (any normal mom’s nightmare uniform) it just screams, I am a Teen Dream

just like their faces do

One of the minor details that is interesting is this eyeliner that actually is not lining the eye but outlining it…it has a certain drama that’s not a look you can pull off in person but snaps the attention in a video.

Also, either they worked late before their solo shots, the color-tweaking brings it out, or there was an actual intent to let these guys look older than twelve. In certain shots they all have a sort of five-o-clock shadow. Stunning, considering they probably mostly can’t GROW facial hair to count by Western standards*.

These accessories likewise only work on screen, but they work HARD in the video.

There’s something about high-contrast buttons and fashion accessorized suits that just…grabs me the right way. It tickles my own sense of style which is “choose concept, muck it up”…

lo, the angst

And how can you not love altering a uniform in such a fashion it looks like a kimono when in motion?

The drape. It kills me.

*this may have come to my notice since I know one of the guys grew a bit of a beard to give them a “rough member” that was a little different in vibe from the boy group usual, and I found that idea intriguing.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

